State House Picks Leaders For 2013 Season

Allentown Morning Call

Republicans and Democrats in the state House chose not to rock the boat Tuesday, as they re-elected the same slate of leaders for the legislative session that begins in January.

Majority Republicans re-elected the same leadership team that they had during the current session that ends on Nov. 30. They are:

• Speaker Sam Smith, R-Jefferson.

• Majority Leader Mike Turzai, R-Allegheny.

• Majority Whip Stan Saylor, R-York.

• Appropriations Committee Chairman William Adolph, R-Delaware.

• Caucus Chairwoman Sandra Major, R-Susquehanna.

• Policy Chairman David Reed, R-Indiana.

• Caucus Administrator Dick Stevenson, R-Mercer.

• Caucus Secretary Mike Vereb, R-Montgomery.

Smith, who’s the presiding officer of the 203-member House, must be elected to his post by the chamber’s full membership in January.

Read more:,0,1300372.story