Corbett Appoints Members To Pa. Alzheimer’s Disease State Planning Committee

The Daily Review

Governor Tom Corbett today announced the appointment of 17 members to the Pennsylvania Alzheimer’s Disease State Planning Committee. Established through Executive Order by Corbett on Feb. 7, the committee will work to create a state plan to address the growing Alzheimer’s disease crisis in Pennsylvania. “Caring for and protecting our older Pennsylvanians is a top priority of my administration,” Corbett said. “With our population of seniors growing, it is critical that we unite to find a cure and help those who are living with Alzheimer’s disease, as well as those who care for them. This committee will bring together experts to address the challenging issues related to this disease.”The committee appointees include representatives from various state agencies as well as those personally impacted by Alzheimer’s disease. The appointees are: Dianne Allaire, Erie; Glenda Cardilla, Harrisburg; Michael Ellenbogen, Jamison; Jill Fortinksky Schwartz, Pittston; George Gunn, Lansdale; Susan Heinle, York; Beth Herold, Butler; Cynthia Lambert, Macungie; David Leader, Hershey; Bob Marino, Lafayette Hill; Cheryl Martin, Palmyra; Kelly O’Shea, Coopersburg; Robin Mozley, Jeannette; Heidi Owen, West Chester; Charles Reynolds, Pittsburgh; Stuart Shapiro, Bala Cynwyd; John Trojanowski, Philadelphia.

Committee members will have until February of next year to develop a planned approach for Pennsylvania relating to Alzheimer’s disease and other related brain disorders. Secretary of Aging, Brian Duke, will serve as the chairperson of the committee that will examine the needs and research the trends of Pennsylvania’s Alzheimer’s population. The majority and minority chairpersons of the Aging and Youth Committee and Public Health and Welfare Committee of the Senate and the majority and minority chairpersons of the Aging and Older Adult Services Committee and Health Committee of the House of Representatives will also serve as designated members of the Committee.

For more information about Governor Corbett, visit

Read more: