PA GOP Launches Liquor Reform Working Group

HARRISBURG — Today, the Republican Party of Pennsylvania hosted the inaugural meeting of the Liquor Reform Working Group in support of Governor Tom Corbett’s liquor reform plan. Announced last month, the committee consists of members from all regions of the state who will actively work with our grassroots to engage our legislature to pass a plan that fully privatizes and modernizes the way Pennsylvanians buy their liquor.

Chairman Gleason made the following statement after today’s meeting:

“Governor Corbett’s liquor reform plan is what all Pennsylvanians have been waiting for, and it’s with great pleasure we convened the first meeting of our Liquor Reform Working Group to ensure that it happens. I am thankful for the State Party Members who accepted this position and for Andy Reilly who has graciously agreed to act as the Chairman of this working group. This committee will take an active role in reaching out to their legislators and school boards to make sure they understand just what full privatization will mean for their communities. Here in Cambria County alone, over $13 million will go to benefit our children in their classrooms,” said Chairman Gleason.

“Governor Corbett and Lt. Governor Cawley have presented a bold plan, and it’s our job to urge the legislature to bring it home. I look forward to the progress to come and the ongoing work with this team to accomplish our ultimate goals — full privatization for the people of Pennsylvania and investing in the better future of our children and Commonwealth.”

Andy Reilly of Delaware County was appointed by Chairman Gleason to chair the group. He made the following statement:

“I am honored to accept this appointment and look forward to working with Chairman Gleason and this working group to advance Governor Tom Corbett’s plan to bring more choice and selection to Pennsylvania. Pennsylvanians deserve full privatization and to be able to buy their beer and wine at the same place they purchase their groceries. The Chairman has selected a great group of leaders from around the state who I look forward to working with to channel the energy of our grassroots activists and volunteers into making this plan a reality.”

The following members were appointed by Chairman Gleason to the Liquor Reform Working Group:

Andy Reilly, Delaware County

Carmen Battavio, Chester County
Gary Bender, Schuylkill County
Jesse Daniel, Indiana County
Christopher Decker, Pike County
Renita Fennick, Luzerne County
Mike Forbes, Crawford County
Grace Jesberger, Elk County
Anne Layng, Huntingdon County
Toni McAndrew, Wayne County
Pat Poprik, Bucks County
Jim Roddey, Allegheny County
Ann Womble, Lancaster County