Pa. Senate GOP Re-Elects Scarnati, Pileggi

ABC 27

Pennsylvania Senate Republicans have re-elected Sen. Joe Scarnati as Senate president and Sen. Dominic Pileggi as majority leader for the next legislative session.

Sen. Pat Browne was elected majority whip and Sen. Mike Waugh of York County will serve as majority caucus chairman.

The full Senate will vote on Scarnati’s nomination when it reconvenes in January.

Senate Republicans hold a 27-23 majority. Three Republicans – Jeffrey Piccola, Mary Jo White, and Jane Earll – will retire at the end of the 2012 session.

Senator-elect Scott Hutchinson will be sworn in to represent the 21st District in January.

Read more: